Vauxhall Corsa-D Forum banner

1 - 3 of 3 Posts

·
Registered
1 Posts
Discussion Starter #1 (Edited)
Hi Chaps,

I need your help, I bought my first 1 owner 11,000 mile 2 year old Corsa D for 6k recently, never had a Corsa before and gave it to the wife. Left it on the drive for 2 weeks and the driver footwell mats were all wet. No probs I thought, I'll just contact the dealer under warranty - rung them up and they said they won't cover water ingress after the first 12 months :(

So I searched the net for hours for solutions as I have less than 100 quid in the bank and I need it for bills. The solutions I researched were as follows, I am by no means a mechanic but here goes:

a: heater matrix leak - no smell of coolant, just looks like plain rainwater, saw a pic of another Corsa (C model) on the net and the location looks completely different, in the Corsa D, just looks like it has been encased in a plastic white shell so ruled this out plus someone commented on the net that the area would get hot giving you a 'hot foot'

b. Leaves/dirt just below the windscreen - one or two leaves, but otherwise clean, removed them any way.

c. Poor weld seam betwen the body and the inside cabin just below the windscreen - inspected with a torch through the gaps, seems ok to me - flooded it with a hosepipe for 20 mins and not a drop inside.

d. Seal gone below the window - the seal does move slightly by 1mm on the passenger side but I have dismissed this as the windscreen overshoots the dash and cabin by quite a margin and goes straight in to the scuttle area so would be fine even without a seal

e. Water dripping between the clutch and brake pedal - as its an auto, just a brake pedal and accelerator - no water noticed after hosepiping the area for 20 mins

f. Poor door seal - inspected the seal and it is near mint and very solid