Vauxhall Corsa-D Forum banner

1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Registered
5 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi everyone, I already know what everyone will say but I need genuine advice and price estimates as I actually want to swap my engine.

Everyone says just buy a vxr but I've had it less than a year and I can't be bothered with going through the whole process again, plus I've done loads of work on my corsa and don't fancy getting rid of it!! It's my baby!!

Anyway I just want to know how to go about swapping from a standard 1.2 to the 1.6T vxr engine. I know people that would be able to get a good price from a professional when it comes to installing, but what else would I have to replace or alter to get it up and running?

I've found a good insurance provider so insuring me wouldn't be too much of an issue, just the mechanical stuff cause I'm still learning.

Also, would it be easier to put a low power turbo on my 1.2? Help please ☺☺

·
Premium Member
400 Posts
Be far easier to get the engine transplanted in from a vxr, although by the time you’ve found everything needed, wheels, hubs, driveshafts, suspension units, engine, gearbox, ecu, exhaust and the engine will need programming to your car control unit, you are doing it yourself, the costs are going to go crazy, then getting the insurance sorted it’s going to be major hassle, plus if someone else is doing it for you, will they offer any warranty as they’ll be using second hand parts. If you definitely want to do it then it’d be best talking to someone like regal if your down south, Courtney if you live in Norfolk area or a reputable garage that’s in to tuning Vauxhall’s, least you know it’ll be done right. Good luck with whatever decision you make.

·
Registered
11 Posts
Ideally a 1.4t engine would be more recommend as there will be less to change then a VXR engine which would cost a ton to do.

I wouldn't bother adding turbo to a 1.2 be little gain from it.

1.2 remap or 1.4 conversion.

·
Premium Member
400 Posts